Hatchback - Year of the Dragon

Year of the Dragon


Formats Tracks Price Buy
12" Vinyl Album 4 tracks £22.00
Download Album (MP3) 6 tracks £5.94
Download Album (WAV) 6 tracks £5.94
Download individual tracks From £0.99


Hatchback - Year of the Dragon

After a seven year hiatus, Sam Grawe aka Hatchback returns with his third album for Lo Recordings, ‘Year of the Dragon’.  The final installment in his 'California Cosmic Sound Series'  trilogy, following ‘Colors Of The Sun’ and ‘Zeus & Apollo’, ‘Year Of The Dragon’ continues Grawe’s personal exploration of the vast horizons of electronica, prog-rock, Balearic rhythms and New Age atmospheres.
Hatchback emerged from a youth spent Walkman in hand, headphones on, with a deep love for synthesizers and no record bin left unexplored. Hatchback's music is as soothing as it is cosmic, and as contemporary as it is timeless.
The vinyl version of ‘Year of the Dragon’ contains the 4 longer tracks of the full 6 track album. Listeners will be comforted by the classic analog sounds that Hatchback has taken to new heights and new depths. Prepare to be set adrift through misty hillsides and sun-soaked seascapes. 
The opening vinyl track ‘Evening Mountain’ sets the scene of a cool haze settling on a lush hillside; glittering melodic harps weave in and out between thick pads as night descends. Meanwhile a murky saxophone coaxes the off kilter drums into formation. A progressive crescendo of electronics gives way to the slide guitar of Scott Hirsch (Hiss Golden Messenger, Echo Magic). 
Inspired by an underground headphone trip through Tokyo. ‘Onarimon’ offers a levitating ambience akin to masters Eno and Budd. Gradual and delicate pads, bright melodies, and shimmering guitar pyrotechnics from Kensuke Saito (9dw) reflect the glimmering neon of the distant megacity above.
‘Humidity Report 1976,’ created with Dan Judd (Sorcerer, Windsurf), picks up the pace and encompasses the richness of Hatchback’s vision. Dreamy harmonies, synth melodies seemingly pulled from a 70’s French soundtrack, pulsing bass, and heavily swung drums come together to ignite a steaming cauldron of sound.
The album concludes with the epic title track ‘Year of the Dragon’. This is a journey like no other, starting somewhere within hazy new age realms and ending in a fury of drums and distortion.
CD and digital exclusive tracks ‘Haiphong Boogie’ and ‘Creamwave Dreamcave’ wouldn’t sound completely out of place on a discerning dance floor, but may sound even better blasting out of a fast moving vehicle on a motorway at night.  

Released on gatefold vinyl, CD and digital formats.


12" Vinyl Album (LO151LP)
  1. Evening Mountain
  2. Onarimon
  3. Humidty Report 1976
  4. Year of the Dragon
Download Album (LO151DA)
  1. Haiphong Boogie
  2. Creamwave Dreamcave
  3. Evening Mountain
  4. Onarimon
  5. Humidty Report 1976
  6. Year of the Dragon